NZHP Board

Our Board consists of three Independent Directors and four DHB-appointed Directors, one from each region: Northern, Midlands, Central and SouthernThe Independent Directors are jointly appointed by shareholders on the recommendation of our Board and must not be a member, officer, employee or contractor of a DHB. The DHB Directors on the other hand must be either DHB Chairs or Deputy Chairs and are directly appointed by DHBs in their region.

The Chair is an Independent Director who is appointed by unanimous resolution of the NZHP Board.

Currently there is a vacancy for an independent director. The appointment of Sally Macauley as a DHB-appointed Director is underway.


Terry McLaughlin
NZHP Chair

Terry was appointed NZHP Board Chair in May 2019. He is also the Chief Executive of Pacific Radiology. He is an experienced finance executive with particular strengths in audit and evaluation of contracts and performance (value for money).

Terry has a good understanding of the interface between the public and private sector, and how commercial transactions are established and evaluated. He brings an inquiring and independent mind to the board table.

Terry is a seasoned executive with a background in the public and private sectors. Originally qualified as a chartered accountant, he started in public practice with Ernst & Young. He then joined the office of the Auditor General rising to Assistant Auditor-General working across all of Government, and in particular Treasury and State Services Commission. His work involved a number of in-depth investigations and performance audits of major transactions and contracts.

Terry is Chair of NZHP's Finance, Audit & Risk Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Peter Anderson
Independent Director

Peter is s an Independent Director. He was Chair of the NZHP Board from 2016 to 2019 and stepped down from this position to spend more time on his retirement.

Peter is also Chairman of Foodstuffs North Island Limited. Peter has 20 years of experience working in a cooperative environment at Foodstuffs, owner of the PAK’nSAVE, New World and Four Square brands.

Peter initially joined Foodstuffs as an owner operator in 1997 and is currently part-owner of a Pak'nSave supermarket on the Kapiti Coast where he remains active in the business as a director of that company.

Prior to joining Foodstuffs, Peter worked in the primary sector for nearly 30 years with Wrightson where he worked in a variety of operational and executive roles.

Pauline Lockett
DHB Director

Pauline is the DHB Director for the Midlands Region. She was appointed jointly by Bay of Plenty, Lakes, Hauora Tairawhiti, Taranaki, and Waikato DHBs.

Currently Chair of Taranaki DHB. Pauline was a partner with PwC for 20 years. Commercial experience includes Director of Landcorp Farming Limited.

She is the Chair of the Ngati Te Whiti Whenua Topu Trust.

Kevin Atkinson
DHB Director

Kevin is the DHB Director for the Central Region. He was appointed jointly by Capital and Coast, Hawke’s Bay, Hutt Valley, MidCentral, Wairarapa and Whanganui DHBs.

He is also the Chair of Hawke’s Bay DHB, where he has been a member since 1998. He is also
the Chair of Unison Network, which owns the electricity distribution networks in Hawke’s Bay, Taupo and Rotorua, and Director of the Hawke’s Bay Rugby Union.

Kevin’s professional life has centred on the technology sector. He founded the software company Information Management Services Ltd (IMS) in 1983, which provided payroll software to a large number of New Zealand and Pacific Islands customers. IMS was sold to MYOB in October 2015.

Kevin is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management, (FNZIM); a Chartered Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Directors, (CFInstD); and a member of the New Zealand Computer Society, (MNZCS). In the 2010 Queens Birthday honours list he received the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM), for services to Business and the Community.

Ron Luxton
DHB Director

Ron is the DHB Director for the Southern Region. He was jointly appointed by Canterbury, Nelson Marlborough, South Canterbury, Southern and West Coast DHBs.

He is also the Chair of South Canterbury DHB. Ron is a pharmacist by profession and has more than 40 years of experience as a frontline primary healthcare worker.

Ron is also Chairman of the Aoraki MRI Charitable Trust and past International Director at Lions Clubs International.

Sally Macauley
DHB Director

Sally Macauley is the DHB Director for the Northern Region.
Sally is the Chair of the Northland DHB, as well as the Chair of the Northland DHB Community and Public Health and Disabilities Advisory Committee. Her commitment to the Health Sector is well-known, as is her commitment to the Northland community.
In 2009, Sally received a Queen’s Service Medal for Services to the Community. She has also been actively involved in Northland and Far North District Municipal Associations. Sally is a councillor and past deputy mayor of the Far North District Council, including Chair of Community Services and Development, where she is involved with economic development in the Far North district.
Sally is also the Chair of the Bay of Islands Arts Festival Trust and a trustee of the Kerikeri International Piano Competition Trust, as well as being a Judicial and Ministerial Justice of the Peace and a marriage celebrant.
Sally joined the New Zealand Health Partnerships Board in July 2019, replacing Judy McGregor, Chair of the Waitemata DHB.